Abortion Doctors: Salary and Experience

July 28, 2009

A few years ago I read an excellent book called The Marketing of Evil.  I highly recommend reading it, and it’s available for only $4.95 at the previous link.  The book includes a chapter about abortion, a copy of which I found online here.

I should stress that the following is based on anecdotal testimony of a few former abortion doctors many years ago, so the salary information and financial practices described below are not necessarily indicative of the entire industry then or now.

Even so, there are two aspects to this chapter that I find highly informative.

1.  The abortion industry is lucrative.

“Why do doctors do abortions?” asks Anthony Levantino, M.D., an OBGYN who provided abortions for his patients in his Albany, N.Y., office for eight years. . . .

“Along the way,” says Levantino, “you find out that you can make a lot of money doing abortions. I worked 9 to 5. I was never bothered at night. I never had to go out on weekends. And I made more money than my obstetrician brethren. And I didn’t have to face the liability. That’s a big factor, a huge perk. I almost never, ever had to worry about her lawyer bothering me.

“In my practice, we were averaging between $250 and $500 per abortion – and it was cash. It’s the one time as a doctor you can say, ‘Either pay me up front or I’m not going to take care of you.’ Abortion is totally elective. Either you have the money or you don’t. And they get it.”

Cash payment is common in the abortion industry, says Everett.

“I’ve seen doctors walk out after three hours’ work and split $4,500 dollars between them on a Saturday morning – more if you go longer into the day,” she said. “Of the four clinics I’ve worked in, none of them ever showed that they collected the doctors’ money; they collect it separately, and do not show it on any of the records in those clinics. That way, the doctors are independent contractors and the clinic doesn’t have to be concerned with their malpractice insurance, and doesn’t have to report their income to the IRS.”

“Every single transaction that we did,” adds Whitten, “was cash money. We wouldn’t take a check, or even a credit card. If you didn’t have the money, forget it. It wasn’t unusual at all for me to take $10,000 to $15,000 a day to the bank – in cash.”

Lets see, if you made $10,000 a day, multiplied by about 240 workdays in a year, that’s $2.4 million.  In a year.  $12 million every five years.  Even if these doctors made just one third of that, we’d still be talking pro sports money here.  But these doctors just couldn’t stomach the work after a while…

2.  Abortion is a gruesome experience for the doctor.

Warning, this is a bit difficult to read:

“One night a lady delivered and I was called to come and see her because she was uncontrollable,” says David Brewer, M.D., of Glen Ellyn, Ill. As a military physician in Ft. Rucher, Ala., Brewer performed abortions for 10 years. “I went in the room, and she was going to pieces; she was having a nervous breakdown, screaming and thrashing. The nurses were upset because they couldn’t get any work done, and all the other patients were upset because this lady was screaming. I walked in, and here was her little saline abortion baby kicking. It had been born alive, and was kicking and moving for a little while before it finally died of those terrible burns, because the salt solution gets into the lungs and burns the lungs, too.”

“I’ll tell you one thing about D&E,” says Levantino. “You never have to worry about a baby’s being born alive. I won’t describe D&E other than to say that, as a doctor, you are sitting there tearing, and I mean tearing – you need a lot of strength to do it – arms and legs off of babies and putting them in a stack on top of a table.”

If you are prepared to read it, here is a description of D&E in a case before the United States Supreme Court.

So what changed Dr. Levantino’s and Dr. Brewer’s minds about what they were doing in the face of millions of dollars of profit?  Dr. Levantino’s conscience was awoken when he lost his own child and he could no longer carry out the death of another person’s child.  Dr. Brewer’s experience was a bit more abrupt:

One particular abortion changed Brewer’s life. “I remember an experience as a resident on a hysterotomy (a late-term abortion delivered by caesarean section). I remember seeing the baby move underneath the sack of membranes as the caesarean incision was made, before the doctor broke the water.”

The thought came to me, ‘My God, that’s a person.’ Then he broke the water. And when he broke the water, it was like I had a pain in my heart, just like when I saw the first suction abortion. And then he delivered the baby, and I couldn’t touch it. I wasn’t much of an assistant. I just stood there, and the reality of what was going on finally began to seep into my calloused brain and heart.

They took that little baby that was making little sounds and moving and kicking, and set it on the table in a cold, stainless steel bowl. And every time I would look over while we were repairing the incision in the uterus and finishing the Caesarean, I would see that little person kicking and moving in that bowl.

And it kicked and moved less and less, of course, as time went on. I can remember going over and looking at that baby when we were done with the surgery and the baby was still alive. You could see the chest was moving and the heart beating, and the baby would try to take a little breath like that, and it really hurt inside, and it began to educate me as to what abortion really was.

Eventually, your conscience catches up with you one way or another.

12 Responses to “Abortion Doctors: Salary and Experience”


  1. […] the murders in Auschwitz financially profited from the killing (gold teeth), and organizations and individuals financially profit from killing […]

  2. Anonymous Says:

    this is not how my practice is…… is lucrative and rewarding to provide this service to those who need it done by a trained physician.

  3. Naturallawyer Says:

    Anonymous:

    Thank you for your comment. As noted above, the post was anecdotal (so no trend was necessarily implied). In any event, you might be obeying the laws of our local government, but there’s a higher law that is of greater concern. If you perform abortions (I take from your comment that you do), I have a question: why do you think there are support groups for former employees of abortion clinics?

    I’m a lawyer, and there’s plenty of shady stuff that goes on in my profession, but I’ve never heard of any general recovery groups for lawyers (perhaps there should be though). But what is it about your profession that drives people to need therapy?

  4. Kristen Says:

    I am blessed to have never had an abortion. I have 4 beautiful children and I thank God for them daily. When my husband and I were first married, we were poor as poor. However, when I became pregnant ( unplanned), I never questioned whether or not to kill my child. I was extremely sick, to the point where I could not keep water down. I was super dehydrated and easily could have justified aborting, but I never let those thoughts enter. I was super sick, throwing up every hour and atvtge point if throwing up blood. I prayed and God was comforting me and strengthening me. I was sick for the entire 9 months. My doctor did not want me to ever get pregnant again. But I did. I have 4 wonderful, smart, happy kids. Kids are priceless and they are miracles. Life is all about trusting in the Lord and making sacrifices, just like Jesus did. I pray that young, poor, old women ask themselves , what would Jesus do, before they go through with an abortion. Children change lives for the better. Make Jesus and Heavenly Father happy. Quit be selfish and greedy. May God bless everyone. life is good!!! Love you ALL

  5. Kristen Says:

    I am blessed to have never had an abortion. I have 4 beautiful children and I thank God for them daily. When my husband and I were first married, we were poor as poor. However, when I became pregnant ( unplanned), I never questioned whether or not to kill my child. I was extremely sick, to the point where I could not keep water down. I was super dehydrated and easily could have justified aborting, but I never let those thoughts enter. I was super sick, throwing up every hour and at the point of throwing up blood. I suffer from hyperemesis while pregnant. But I am soooo thankful to have the opportunity to become pregnant. I know several woman who can not easily get pregnant. While I was sick and pregnant, I prayed and God was comforting me and strengthening me. I was sick for the entire 9 months. My ob doctor did not want me to ever get pregnant again. But I did. I have 4 wonderful, smart, happy kids. Kids are priceless and they are miracles. Life is all about trusting in the Lord and making sacrifices, just like Jesus did. I pray that young, poor, old women ask themselves , what would Jesus do, before they go through with an abortion. Children change lives for the better. Make Jesus and Heavenly Father happy. Quit being selfish and greedy. Please, please trust un God. May God bless everyone. Life is good!!! Love you ALL.

  6. James Says:

    If you can’t trust a woman with a choice, how can you trust her with a baby? It is murder. Period. In many cases, not all. In many situations putting that baby to the grave before it has a chance to make it in the world is often a gift. Babies of drug addicts, of women who are in poverty or unable to take care of themselves let alone another child, these babies are doomed to a morbid outlook of what they will be able to have in this life (statistically speaking). Death in any context is a difficult thing for humans to wrap our minds around. It is my opinion that if the responsible parties decide that they are not capable of giving the baby the life it deserves then put it out of its misery. And certainly do not persecute the physicians who are only trying to provide the services these responsible parties are in need of.

  7. James Says:

    I have posted above and also want to say, on a final note, that we MUST keep “god” out of our legislation when it comes to dealing with these matters. Whether you believe in god or not, that belief shouldn’t have real world implication on the the type of health care we are able to receive in our great nation. Would you let jesus determine the modalities through which your government regulates taxes or elections?

  8. Robert Sanchez Says:

    If you can’t trust a woman with a choice, how can you trust her with a baby? It is murder. Period. In many cases, not all. In many situations putting that baby to the grave before it has a chance to make it in the world is often a gift. Babies of drug addicts, of women who are in poverty or unable to take care of themselves let alone another child, these babies are doomed to a morbid outlook of what they will be able to have in this life (statistically speaking). Death in any context is a difficult thing for humans to wrap our minds around. It is my opinion that if the responsible parties decide that they are not capable of giving the baby the life it deserves then put it out of its misery. And certainly do not persecute the physicians who are only trying to provide the services these responsible parties are in need of. I have posted above and also want to say, on a final note, that we MUST keep “god” out of our legislation when it comes to dealing with these matters. Whether you believe in god or not, that belief shouldn’t have real world implication on the the type of health care we are able to receive in our great nation. Would you let jesus determine the modalities through which your government regulates taxes or elections?

    James Your bullshit

  9. Robert Sanchez Says:

    James your bullshit.

  10. Anonymous Says:

    He would do a better job than our government

  11. Elena Says:

    How can you read what the chapter says James and than say in the paragraph you wrote that letting a women have her own child is murder. THEY’RE TEARING BABIES BODY PARTS OFF OF THEM WHILE THEY’RE ALIVE. WAIT LET ME LET THE SINK IN WHILE THEY’RE ALIVE AND WAITING UNTIL THEIR LITTLE CHEST STOP BREATHING AND YOUR CALLING THE WOMAN A MURDER. WHAT THE heck IS WRONG WITH YOUR BRAIN…. obviously they are the ones who are doing murder. if they cannot take care of the baby orphanage. I am adopted and am only 14 8th grade and I know wrong when I see it. Im a Black female and abortion clinics were created or founded by Margret Sanger. the goal was to kill of the black race. they went to abortions after their first project the
    nigger/negro project did not work

  12. Anonymous Says:

    💘


Leave a comment